Lazioland Forum

Advanced search  

News:

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Your football playing career  (Read 1248 times)

Stefano6

• LF Legend
Your football playing career
« on: September 26, 2017, 08:15:17 PM »

The discussion about different training and playing experiences in the Strakosha thread got me interested in what experiences other members have, or had, in playing. Its interesting to me how a sport which is global, can be played or taught differently everywhere.

So, who here plays? Or played in the past? At what level? Any notable stories?

Ill start!

I didnt play at all until I was age 10, my family moved house and in order to make friends I started playing football with the kids in the park. I wasnt very good of course, so I often went in goal, and I got to be pretty good.
I was short (still am!) so I was never going to go very far, but I had great reactions and was a good shot stopper.

From the age of 10 to about 17 I played in goal, casually between friends and also for a local 11 a side team in England.
I even had trials for Wigan Athletic, and was almost "signed" - the reason they gave was there was another player that was 1 year younger, so they would be able to train him for 1 year more before having to decide whether to offer him a pro contract or not, so they took him.

This really disappointed me, and I didnt play again for years, only occasionally between friends.

Fast forward some years and I changed job, and was invited to join their recreational 7 a side league. I didnt want to play in goal though, so I was put on right wing.