Lazioland Forum

Advanced search  

News:

Pages: 1 2 [3]

Author Topic: IMPORTANT: Ongoing Forum Problems  (Read 932 times)

Secret_Samadhi

• Content Creator
  • LF Legend
Re: IMPORTANT: Ongoing Forum Problems
« Reply #20 on: November 05, 2018, 11:29:47 AM »

Who is he and is there any way to contact him? It would be helpfull maybe.

flurffmeister

• Aquila Imperiale
« Reply #21 on: November 05, 2018, 11:45:50 AM »

I'm a professional software developer by trade... are there any technical details that can be sent my way regarding the database-- such as, what specifically is "broken" with it, and what's being done when the forum is (temporarily) available again?

This forum looks like it just uses a basic, pre-built, PHP-based software package. Spinning a new one up somewhere would be trivial, but someone would need to pay the hosting costs (who pays those now, incidentally? Just curious how that works).

Anyway, happy to advise if I can be any help.

the issue is that the forum template is outdated and needs to be moved to a modern forum, our forum is smf and with any attempt to inject scripts ( for example upload avatar, photo link, files) the database will corrupt as our coding is very outdated , the issue here is our team goes through the procedure of removing style.css and overwrites the script before performing a vaste restore update.
Il tricolore non cancella l'odore.
Lotito Vattene.

flurffmeister

• Aquila Imperiale
« Reply #22 on: November 05, 2018, 11:46:57 AM »

The best option is to start from scratch, but then again, someone has to take over hosting expenses and not leave us to dry after a certain period of time.